Rejections and Acceptance

The Beginning

First Draft 3

The first time I tried to write Dempsey’s Grill it was your typical mess. The idea was there but the story line was off. I could tell there was something missing and I could see the characters were not well written.

But it was a start.

By the time it was complete I knew I had something. It wasn’t because I wrote it, it was because I wrote something I wanted to read.

 

No is not the final answer

Query

At the time I had no idea if others would agree but I knew I had to find out. For the longest time the answers were the same.

NO

I think it was rejection 100 when I stopped counting. Who am I kidding? I counted every one. But no matter how many publishers or agents said no I kept going.

Why?

Because I wrote a book I wanted to read.

 

It could have been you

Had Dempsey’s Grill been written by any of you I would have loved it just the same and that is what has kept me going.

I loved the story and I cared about these people and because of that I owed it to them to tell their story the best I could. No matter how many rejections I received or how many negative comments I read, I knew their voices would someday be heard.

 

A stubborn bunch we are

If any of you are in the same boat remember: All it takes is a belief that you wrote something special and if you feel it all the way to your core someday someone will feel it too.

Belief, confidence and a dash of luck will one day capture someone’s attention. But remember: You create your own luck.

 

All it took was a yes

Yes!!!

In the fall of 2018 that’s exactly what happened to Dempsey and the gang. They got their yes.

To the amazing people at Foundation Books I cannot thank you enough.

All it takes is a yes buried deep in a mountain of no’s. But most of all it takes a belief in your story and a love for your characters. When you have that it is only a matter of time for agents, publishers and most of all readers to see it too.

Thanks for reading my Dempsey’s Grill series everyone.

31 thoughts on “Rejections and Acceptance

  1. I believe the same thing, Bryan. Writers need to write for themselves and believe in themselves and their story. It’s up to the rest of the world to catch up 😋. I can’t wait to read Dempsey’s Grill and have really enjoyed your posts introducing the characters. Thanks!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I can feel the energy and the care for your characters in your work. Our work has to matter to us. It can’t be just a bunch of words. I really appreciate your feedback. That means a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bryan,

    You’ve given me hope as I start to compile blog posts and poetry for a creative nonfiction adventure. Still trying to figure out what my angle will be but ironically, I’m kinda excited for the impending rejection letters; they will mean that, at the very least, I tried.

    Thanks for being so open with us, for encouraging us, and I, for one, can’t wait to meet Dempsey and the gang. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, Bryan! I could always use a critique partner. I’ll work on compiling everything over the next few days and then reach out to you once I’m satisfied with the look of it all.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It took a mindset but most of all it was one of the best learning experiences I’ve ever had. Nothing comes easy and I feel the harder we work at something the greater the reward. Thank you, Mae.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s that same struggle always, isn’t it? Knowing when and how to alter for improvement while still maintaining authenticity?(Pardon the existentialism…)
    Congratulations, Bryan, for your perseverance and your devotion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a great feeling but at the same time a reminder of the responsibility that now comes with it. But I chose this path and I embrace all that comes with it. Who doesn’t love a good challenge. 🙂

      As always, thanks for stopping by. Always good to see you. I need to hop on over to your blog and see what you’re up too.

      Like

  4. Awesome! You totally deserve that YES! And I believe in your strategy of writing a book you want to read. I do the same. It keeps the writer (and writing) excited. Is Dempsey’s Grill out on sale yet?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. You’ve been teasing us about your book, and now we want to know the rest, so looking forward to being able the read it 😁

        Like

  5. Congratulations on the “yes,” Bryan; it must have been a major thrill! While you were getting all those rejections, did you change the story at all? Rewrite it? Or did you know it was good enough to publish and you just had to connect it with the right publisher?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Audrey.

      I had two editors. Jo was my first. She trimmed the fat and tightened it up. By the time we finished the word count was about 92,000. Most of my rejections came at that time. I was told a couple of times being an unknown with a high word count turned a lot of agents and publishers off.

      Molly was my second editor. We brought the word count down to 84,000. Tightened things up a bit and made some parts a quicker read. That’s when I started getting looks.

      Looking back a lot of it has to do with word count. Kind of like sticker shock. Higher numbers seem to turn people away.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment